Stages of Pyschosynthesis

Before discussing the four stages of psychosynthesis, two comments are in order.

   1) The first is that although the stages do follow a logical progression in which early stages lead naturally to the later stages, they are not steps in some invariant sequential process. Any particular individual may be experiencing the stages well outside the sequence at any given time. At one point we may be conscious of Stage 4, then of Stage 1, then Stage 3, and so on. The stages are not hierarchical levels in which earlier stages are subsumed by the later ones; they are sides or facets of the process of psychosynthesis which reveal themselves at different times as the process occurs. Indeed, we can think of psychosynthesis as manifesting as a whole—all stages simultaneously—while our awareness continually shifts from one facet or stage of psychosynthesis to another.


   2) The second thing to be said of the stages as a whole is that Assagioli did not present them as natural stages in human development; he did not see them as the natural, healthy phases through which a human being should pass over the course of life. Rather, he saw the stages as a response to what he called “the fundamental infirmity of man.” In other words, the stages are a remedy or healing for a dis-ease, a malady, a brokenness within the human condition. Accordingly, we have added an earlier stage to Assagioli’s original four: the Survival Stage, representing this brokenness of life (Psychosynthesis by Firman & Gila). We have also renamed Assagioli’s original stages, though their meanings remain substantially the same.

Having made these two points, we can explore the stages of psychosynthesis:
Stage O or Survival,
Stage 1 or Exploration,
Stage 2 or Emergence of “I,”
Stage 3 or Contact with Self, and
Stage 4 or Response to Self.